Millennium Development Goals


In 2000, the then 189 Member States of the UN agreed upon the implementation of eight Millennium Develpment Goals to be achieved by 2015. Reaching these MDGs are of the highest priority for German development policy.

In September 2000, representatives from the then 189 Member States of the United Nations adopted the Millennium Declaration. Eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) were subsequently derived from the Declaration. They are:

MDG 1: Halve the proportion of people living in extreme poverty and hunger

MDG 2: Achieve universal primary education

MDG 3: Promote gender equality and empower women

MDG 4: Reduce child mortality

MDG 5: Improve maternal health

MDG 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other infectious diseases

MDG 7: Ensure environmental sustainability

MDG 8: Develop a global partnership for development

Germany supports the extraordinary significance of the Millennium Declaration and the ensuing Development Goals. In September 2010, on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the Millennium Declaration, an MDG Summit was held in New York. Based on an initiative by Germany and other countries, the final outcome document asks the Secretary-General of the United Nations to provide ideas for a successor framework for the MDGs by 2013.

At a special event of the UN General Assembly in September 2013, Member States awarded the attainment of the Millennium Development Goals highest priority.

Related content

Top of page